The ’88 Bulldog Pride Award

Alumni of the Old Rochester Regional Class of 1988 and friends of the class (including ORR alumni from the Classes of 1986, 1987, 1989, 1990 and 1991) are proud to announce the 2021 call for applications for the ’88 Bulldog Pride Award. The award is to be given to an outstanding graduating senior who has shown a demonstrated pride for our alma mater.

            The ’88 Bulldog Pride Award recognizes the contributions of an outstanding graduating senior of the Class of 2021 who emulates the legacy of the Class of 1988, demonstrating pride for the class and school. The ORR Class of 1988 wishes to recognize a graduating senior who may go unnoticed because of the unsung values that are often missed by scholastic or athletic merit-based awards. We wish to support a champion of fellow students, the class, and the school. Through recognition of students who passionately support their peers in class and Tri-Town activities, the Class of 1988 wishes to promote kindness and goodwill towards others as the pathway to acceptance and inclusion. This is the spirit of the ’88 Bulldog Pride Award.

            The successful graduating senior of the Class of 2021 will be awarded $300 to augment the winner’s future study at a two- or four-year college or university or for activities related to a gap year experience.

            The scholarship award is drawn from the ORR Class of 1988 Scholarship Fund, established in July 2018 on the occasion of the class’s 30th reunion, with the generous contributions of ORR alumni who attended the reunion weekend. This fund will sponsor the financial contribution to the ‘88 Bulldog Pride Award for the period of 2019-2023. The scholarship has been awarded to Michaela Mattson ‘19 of Marion and to Megan McCullough ‘20 of Mattapoisett.

            The Alumni Selection Committee is led by the class president, Thomas Xenopoulos Peccini (Mattapoisett), along with Vice-President Christopher Danse (Marion), Salutatorian Dana Palmer-Donnelly (Marion), Lorraine Durgin Kumlin (Mattapoisett), Tom Fletcher (Mattapoisett), Racquel Rezendes (Marion), Lara Schofield (Marion), and Jeff Silva (Rochester), including class advisor Mrs. Teresa Dall.

            To receive the award brief and 2021 application, send an email to The electronic submission period closes on May 20 at 3:00 pm. Any applications received after this time will not be accepted for consideration. Once the completed application is received, the graduating senior will receive notification that the application has been accepted for consideration by the Alumni Selection Committee. Please note that the student will not be notified by the committee if the application is incomplete.

            If you have any questions about the process, please contact the class president or Kelly Bertrand, guidance secretary at Old Rochester Regional High School, at 508-758-3745 ext. 1414.

            The Alumni Committee of the Class of 1988 would like to express its gratitude to ORR alumni and friends who’ve contributed to this scholarship fund in order to facilitate this financial award. Special thanks are given to the Guidance Department of ORRHS who provide support to the alumni committee and to the faculty/staff and peer leaders of the school who support the seniors’ applications.

            If you are an alumnus/alumna of ORR and would like to inquire about contributing directly to this alumni-sponsored scholarship fund, please contact the committee’s chair. Donations of any amount are welcome so that we alumni can continue to support young and active members of our community. Due to the generosity of anonymous contributions and efforts by its alumni volunteers, all proceeds go directly to funding the award.

Leave A Comment...