Mattapoisett Yacht Club

Mattapoisett Yacht Club wrapped up the 2017 Season with its Annual Meeting and Awards Banquet at the Waypoint Center in New Bedford. Rachel Westgate was installed as Rear Commodore to join returning Flag officers Commodore Ed Sargent, Vice Commodore Kai Srisirikul, Treasurer Charlie Smith and Secretary Stephanie Ducharme.

The year’s racing and cruising events were reviewed and awards presented. First place overall summer PHRF class “A” went to Mark Thornhill in J-30 No Quarter Given, first place overall in PHRF “B” Fleet went to Don Ross in Frers 33 Coconuts, and the overall winner in the Ensign Class was John Mello in One Love. 2017 marked the beginning of an annual Buzzards Bay Trophy, a six-race competition to determine an overall PHRF champion. Area yacht clubs each sponsor a distance race. MYC ‘s Bob Warren in Dufour 38 In Deep took third place in the Cruising Division.

In addition to the racing awards, Charlie Smith received the Ann Donald Award for distinguished service to the Club. Charlie has served as the Club’s treasurer for over eight years. His contributions have extended well beyond the duties of treasurer.

Special recognition went out to Charlie Prefontaine for winning his 14th Figawi Race. Charlie has raced the Figawi race for over 30 years. For his outstanding accomplishment, Charlie was awarded the Figawi’s highest honor, the 2017 Howard K. Penn Award.

Although the official season is over, the MYC advisory board will be meeting regularly over the coming months to plan for next season. MYC has been selected by the Ensign Class to host the 2018 Regional Championship Regatta in July.

If you would like to learn more about the MYC, please visit our website at or contact us at

Leave A Comment...