In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. The survey was funded one-half by the Sippican Historical Society and one-half by the Massachusetts Historical Commission. Due to the limits of funding, not all of the historic buildings were surveyed, but over 100 were catalogued and photographed. The results of the survey are in digital form on the Massachusetts Historical Commission’s website and in four binders in the Sippican Historical Society’s office (and at the Marion Town Clerk’s office).
Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. The Sippican Historical Society will preview one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture.
This installment features 80 Pleasant Street. The former Universalist church at 80 Pleasant Street (now the Marion Art Center) is a blend of the Greek Revival and Gothic Revival styles. It was built in 1833 from designs provided by Seth Eaton in Mattapoisett. This building is historically significant as a spiritual home of Marion Universalists for over 100 years. The first Universalist preacher in Marion was Robert T. Killam. Alanson St. Clair was the minister during the church’s construction in 1833. The original congregants included members of the Clark, Bassett, Bates, Blankinship, Foster, Martin, Southworth, and Wing families.