In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. The survey was funded one-half by the Sippican Historical Society and one-half by the Massachusetts Historical Commission. Due to the limits of funding, not all of the historic buildings were surveyed, but over 100 were catalogued and photographed. The results of the survey are in digital form on the Massachusetts Historical Commission’s website and in four binders in the Sippican Historical Society’s office (and at the Marion Town Clerk’s office).
Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. The Sippican Historical Society will preview one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture.
This installment features 460 Front Street. Built in 1799, the large late Georgian residence at 460 Front Street was built for the first minister of Marion’s first Congregational Church, Rev. Oliver Cobb. The generous size of this house reflects Rev. Cobb’s standing within the community. This house, which is set back and faces an ample lawn, is a rare late 18th-century Marion example of a two-story house at the time when one-story Capes were the predominant building type.