In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. The survey was funded one-half by the Sippican Historical Society and one-half by the Massachusetts Historical Commission. Due to the limits of funding, not all of the historic buildings were surveyed, but over 100 were catalogued and photographed. The results of the survey are in digital form on the Massachusetts Historical Commission’s website and in four binders in the Sippican Historical Society’s office (and at the Marion Town Clerk’s office).
Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. The Sippican Historical Society will preview one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture.
This installment features 306 Wareham Road. The residence at 306 Wareham Road was built circa 1850. It is an L-shaped Greek Revival cottage with an 1880s to 1890s Queen Anne front porch addition. This home may have been built as a retirement home for Captain Hale, who is listed as its owner on the 1879 map. The 1903 Marion map lists Mrs. B.C. Hale as its owner. No Hales are listed here in later directories.