In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. The survey was funded one-half by the Sippican Historical Society and one-half by the Massachusetts Historical Commission. Due to the limits of funding, not all of the historic buildings were surveyed, but over 100 were catalogued and photographed. The results of the survey are in digital form on the Massachusetts Historical Commission’s website and in four binders in the Sippican Historical Society’s office (and at the Marion Town Clerk’s office).
Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. The Sippican Historical Society will preview one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture.
This installment features 226 Front Street – Alumni House. The building at 226 Front Street, once the Headmaster’s House of Tabor Academy, is a Cape Cod cottage that was built in 1817. It was greatly enlarged by a Colonial Revival addition in 1849. The 1855 Marion map indicates that Peleg Briggs lived here. By 1903, it was the property of Miss J. Briggs. In 1937, it became the Headmaster’s House when Tabor Academy was moved to the waterfront. Headmaster Walter Huston Lillard lived here until 1942, when he left Tabor Academy to assist the war effort. His successor was James W. Wickenden. The Headmaster’s House became an important focus of the school’s academic life.