In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. The survey was funded one-half by the Sippican Historical Society and one-half by the Massachusetts Historical Commission. Due to the limits of funding, not all of the historic buildings were surveyed, but over 100 were catalogued and photographed. The results of the survey are in digital form on the Massachusetts Historical Commission’s website and in four binders in the Sippican Historical Society’s office (and at the Marion Town Clerk’s office).
Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. The Sippican Historical Society will preview one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture.
This installment features 311 Delano Road. Traversing Great Neck, Delano Road evolved from Native American trails. The Delano brothers at some point settled this section of Great Neck in the mid-18th century. The Delanos were an industrious family of farmers, fishermen, and early salt entrepreneurs. They were direct descendants of Philippe de la Noye, the first French Hugeunot to come to America in 1621 on the Fortune, which landed in Plymouth. The late-19thcentury cottage at 311 Delano Road is enclosed on its Delano and Cross Neck Street sides by low rubble stonewalls.