Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. Over 100 were cataloged and photographed. SHS will feature one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture.
28 Briggs Lane runs parallel to Main Street, Briggs Lane, formerly Back Street, a narrow way extending from Mill Street (Route 6) to Pleasant Street. Before Main Street was extended from Pleasant to Mill Street in 1829, Briggs Lane was the old road connecting the southern section of Wharf Village with Main Street. Much of the charm of the south side of this street depends on the presence of an early- to mid-19th-century dwelling at 28 Briggs Lane. This house may have been moved here from another location, as it does not appear on the 1855 or 1879 Marion maps. By the early 1900s, this house is shown on its present lot. At that time, it was owned by Seth H. Briggs, a “jobber.” The top photo was taken in 1998; the bottom photo in 2021.