Marion Church History Tour

Delve into the rich history of The First Congregational Church of Marion and its foundational role in the town’s development with the upcoming event, “Ship Captains’ Legacy: Charting The First Congregational’s History,” hosted by The First Congregational Church and The Sippican Historical Society.

            Scheduled for Saturday, June 8 from 9:00 am to 11:00 am, this immersive journey will chart the rich history of The First Congregational Church and its connection to the life of Marion for the past 300 years. Starting at the main Church building at 28 Main Street in Marion, the tour includes light refreshments, and will feature engaging presentations from Will Tifft of The Sippican Historical Society.

            The highlight of the event includes a tour of the iconic 1841 “Captains’ Meetinghouse,” which serves as the Church’s historic sanctuary. Participants will also learn about the Church’s historic Congregational Chapel at 37 Main Street (presently Penny Pincher’s Exchange). Attendees will have the unique opportunity to consider the historical Hutchings Organ (ca. late 1800s), ring the clock tower bell, and hear about the upstairs story of the Marion General Store, integral to the Church’s beginnings (1702-1841).

            Artifacts from the early years of the Church will also be on display, with colorful descriptions from local history lover, Bob Jones.

            Registration for this experience is limited to 60 attendees, and interested individuals are encouraged to secure their spots promptly by registering at:

             There are some aspects of these historic facilities which unfortunately provide mobility restrictions; the Congregational Chapel requires a stairway for access.

            Don’t miss your chance to be part of this unforgettable event.

            We kindly ask that tour attendees park at the Town Wharf on Front Street, opposite the Marion Music Hall, or on side streets around town.

Leave A Comment...