Most Valuable Student Scholarship

The Massachusetts Elks Association is pleased to announce its 2013-2014 academic year Most Valuable Student Scholarship program sponsored by the Elks National Foundation. Last year, Massachusetts was honored to have one of its students receive the National First-Place award of $60,000 ($15,000/year). The recipient of the prestigious award was Anish Athalye through the Worcester Lodge of Elks, #243. Anish will be attending MIT in the fall and we wish him well in his endeavors.

Through the Most Valuable Student Scholarship program, established in 1933, the Elks National Foundation has helped thousands of students who need financial assistance to fulfill their dreams of attending college. MVS scholars are outstanding students who are at or near the top of their class, active in school and community activities, and recognized as leaders by their peers. Students will be judged on scholarship, leadership and financial need and the award is available to any high school senior who is a U.S. Citizen.

The ENF awards $2,440,000 annually in MVS scholarships to 500 high school seniors nationwide, (19 in Massachusetts). The first- and second-place awards are the largest scholarships provided by any major fraternal or service organization.

Male and Female students compete separately for identical awards.  Below is a chart of the national awards.

• 2 First-Place Awards of $50,000 ($12,500/year)

• 2 Second-Place Awards of $40,000 ($10,000/year)

• 2 Third-Place Awards of $30,000 ($7,500/year)

• 14 Fourth-Place Awards of $20,000 ($5,000/year)

• 480 Runners-Up Awards of $4,000 ($1,000/year)

Massachusetts also has a total of 72 one-time $800 awards. Last year, the Massachusetts Elks Association granted a total of $197,600 to graduating seniors through this program.

Applications are available beginning September 1 online at Applications must be submitted on or before the deadline of December 6 to the Elks Lodge closest to the student’s permanent U.S. residence, regardless of distance. The selection of winners begins at the local Lodge level and continues through the district, state association and national judging.

If you have any questions, please contact Joseph Neale, Massachusetts State Chairman, at

Leave A Comment...