Deadline Passes for Marion Election Papers

A couple of last-minute candidates returned nomination papers before the deadline passed on March 24, and voters can anticipate three contested races: Board of Selectmen, Planning Board and Marion School Committee.

W. Dale Jones is running against incumbent Selectman Stephen Cushing in the race for Board of Selectmen. Jones ran for Selectman in 2013, but lost to current Selectman Jonathan Henry. Cushing is seeking his fourth term as selectman.

There are four candidates vying for three seats on the Planning Board, with only one incumbent, Edwin North. Running against North are Michael Popitz, Robert Lane, and Eileen Marum.

Two incumbents running for the Marion School Committee, Michelle Ouellette and Christine Winters, have been joined by Kate Ellen Houdelette to make this a contested race. Houdelette pulled papers on March 12 and returned them on March 21 in time for the deadline.

Tree Warden Timothy Crowley is not running for reelection, and no candidates have filed nomination papers with the town clerk. Stephen Curtis Gonsalves pulled papers on March 18, but did not return to file them.

The candidates for the remaining elected positions are incumbents running uncontested. These candidates are Ray Pickles for town clerk, Catherine Gibbs for assessor, David Titus for moderator, Elizabeth Dunn for Board of Health, Paul Goulet Jr. for Old Rochester Regional School Committee, and Joseph Keogh and Jeffrey Oakes for the two slots on the Open Space Acquisition Commission.

Election Day is Friday, May 16 and the polls are open from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm.

By Jean Perry

Leave A Comment...