Road Race Award Winners

The Mattapoisett Road Race Committee recently met to finalize preparations for it’s 43rd 5-mile run to be held Thursday, 4 July at 9:00am. The Committee is headed by Bill Tilden, ORRHS Athletic Director.

Throughout the history of the Race, the Committee has given over $120,000 in awards to Tri-Town Students who have been involved with running. Awards for 2013 went to Abigail Hiller, Fredric Murolo, Alex Milde, Janice Weldon and Brian Tranfaglia of Mattapoisett; Alexandra Saccone, Luke Mattar, Meagan Bell and Nick Pacheco of Marion and Hannah Welsh from Rochester.

Community merchants continue to be generous in their support with donations or sponsors of t-shirts. Highlights for this year’s race are the Harpoon Harmonizers singing the “Star Spangled Banner,” Core Performance Tech shirts for the first 750 registered runners, sale of “Future Runner” shirts the day before and day of the race, and recognition of the most spirited spectators along the Race route!

Runners can sign up at Shipyard Park on July 3 from 5:00 to 8:00 pm for $20.00 or on July 4 from 7:30 to 8:30 am for $25.

More information at Also, check us out on Facebook!

Leave A Comment...