Tabor Academy to Graduate 140 Students

On May 31at 10:00 am, Tabor Academy will graduate 140 students from around the country and around the world. The Class of 2019 has enjoyed many accomplishments this year which will be celebrated with prizes for graduates from scholarship awards to book prizes. Each of the graduates is on their way to exciting plans in college at home and abroad in the year ahead, and 28 will be inducted into the Cum Laude Society, a recognition for high scholastic achievement in secondary schools. The graduates hail from 17 states and 11 countries. 

            The service will take place under a huge tent with views to Sippican Harbor. The program has musical performances as well as student speeches from the student Co-Heads of School, Sophie Browning (Sag Harbor, NY) and Owen Sughrue (Marion, MA), the Head of School John Quirk, and Chairman of the Board of Trustee, Carmine A. Martignetti ’71, and the Commencement Speaker, Kelli McSweeny, a retiring English teacher who has served Tabor for 29 years. 

            Kelli McSweeny, a Marion resident, has contributed across Tabor from the language department, where she taught Russian for many years, to Admissions, and most recently, as an English teacher. “Her enthusiasm for teaching and coaching, and her commitment to the girls on her teams and in the dorm has made her a mentor to many students across the decades. She is a caring colleague and friend, and both our students and faculty appreciate her commitment to their growth and success,” said Kerry Saltonstall, Director of Communications.

            As Tabor celebrates the many talents, contributions, and achievements of the Class of 2019, over 2000 well-wishers, family, friends, and alumni will be on hand to send the class off with thanks and best wishes to all. 

            Tri-Town residents in the graduating class include:

            From Marion: Lauren Jade Craig, Charles Raymond Shea Dineen, *Anna Ekman Douglas, *Samuel Emmett Gordon, Max Albury Gryska, Kyla Sirlhei Horton, Erica Judd, Dana Michelle LeRoy, John Wilkinson Marvel, Marc Salim Millette, Natalia Peterson O’Leary, *Jackson Gardiner Reydel, Daniel Andrew Rorke, *Grace Elizabeth Ryan, Benjamin Burke Ryan Shachoy, *Owen Burke Sughrue, Eleanor Anne Townsend, & George Hayward Whitney IV

            From Mattapoisett: Margaret Elizabeth Adams, *Matthew Paul Carvalho, & Abigail Theresa LaCasse

            From Rochester: Robert Charles Donley & Gabriel Emmett McCollester

* Designates Cum Laude Inductee

Leave A Comment...