Sippican Woman’s Club Scholarship Awards

Since 1947, the Sippican Woman’s Club has awarded scholarships to Marion students. In the past, scholarships have been funded by proceeds from the club’s annual Holiday House Tour.  Due to the pandemic, the past two years scholarships have been funded by donations from both individuals and the sale of red/white & blue luminaria kits to celebrate both the Fourth of July and our fundraiser “Illuminate to Educate”.

            The Club’s Scholarship Committee (Ellen Johnston, Eileen Merlino, and Kathleen Tibbetts) are pleased to announce the names of the five Marion residents graduating from high school who will be awarded scholarships toward higher learning.  Those seniors from ORR Regional High School are: Jamie MacKenzie who will attend Wentworth; Maxwell Tucker who will attend U Conn and Emma Wyman is the recipient of the “Lu Chevrier Award* and will attend Roger Williams University. The graduating senior from Bishop Stang High School is Maeve Egger who will attend U of San Diego, and the graduating senior from Tabor Academy is David Strom who will attend U.R.I.

            The following continuing education students will be awarded scholarships once they have completed their first semester and submitted their grades: Sydney Feeney who attends U Conn;. Isabelle Kelly who attends the U of So. Carolina; Abigail Mc Fadyen who attends Temple U; Daphne Poirier who attends U Mass Dartmouth Honors College; Michael Pardo who attends Babson College; Catherine Russo Marquette U and Mason Tucker who attends U.R.I.

            Eligibility: Any Marion resident who is currently a high school senior and will attend an  

accredited college or university to pursue a bachelor’s degree in the coming year.  Undergraduates who have previously received a SWC scholarship award may reapply for continuing support. 

            Criteria: Scholarships are awarded on the basis of academic achievement, participation in extracurricular activities, community service and need.

            Special Scholarships: The Lu Chevrier Scholarship is awarded to a high school senior with a particularly outstanding record of community service. The Alice Ryder Book Award is presented to the highest-ranking English student in the middle school graduating class.  This year’s recipient is yet to be named.

Leave A Comment...