In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. The survey was funded one-half by the Sippican Historical Society and one-half by the Massachusetts Historical Commission. Due to the limits of funding, not all of the historic buildings were surveyed, but over 100 were catalogued and photographed. The results of the survey are in digital form on the Massachusetts Historical Commission’s website and in four binders in the Sippican Historical Society’s office (and at the Marion Town Clerk’s office).
Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. The Sippican Historical Society will preview one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture.
This installment features 617 Mill Street. The Greek Revival home at 617 Mill Street is set back from Mill Street (Route 6) and is noteworthy for its temple form design. Built in the 1840s, this house was for many years owned by George S. Bates and Sarah Blankinship Bates. Mr. Bates was a farmer and trader. He is listed on the 1855 and 1879 Marion maps. By 1903, this house was owned by his estate. As late as 1937, this house was occupied by two of the ten children of George and Sarah, namely, Mrs. Paul C. Blankinship and Albert S. Bates. Albert attended Tabor Academy and the Universalist Church. He was also a member of the Marion Grange and later worked in the store of his brother-in-law, Paul C. Blankinship.