In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. The survey was funded one-half by the Sippican Historical Society and one-half by the Massachusetts Historical Commission. Because of the limits of funding, not all of the historic buildings were surveyed, but over 100 were catalogued and photographed. The results of the survey are in digital form on the Massachusetts Historical Commission’s website and in four binders in the Sippican Historical Society’s office (and at the Marion Town Clerk’s office). Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. The Sippican Historical Society will preview one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture. This fifth installment features 513 Point Road.
The dwelling at 513 Point Road was built in 1850 in the Italianate style. The house is prominently situated at the crossroads of Point and Delano Roads. Along with three other neighboring dwellings, the house provides an unspoiled glimpse of a rural, remote Sippican Neck before seasonal and suburban house construction transformed its appearance in the 20th century. The 1855 Marion map identifies the owner of this home as William Ellis. By 1879, George Hammond, a carpenter, owned this property. In 1903, this house was owned by Charles M. Ellis, whose occupation is variously listed as contractor and “teaming and jogging.” He lived here until at least 1926.