In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. The survey was funded one-half by the Sippican Historical Society and one-half by the Massachusetts Historical Commission. Due to the limits of funding, not all of the historic buildings were surveyed, but over 100 were catalogued and photographed. The results of the survey are in digital form on the Massachusetts Historical Commission’s website and in four binders in the Sippican Historical Society’s office (and at the Marion Town Clerk’s office).
Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. The Sippican Historical Society will preview one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture.
This installment features 41 Main Street. More usually associated with late-17th-century New England houses, 41 Main Street is a late example of a Saltbox-style home, which is characterized by a lean-to addition in the rear. Built in 1802, this was the last house on Main Street until it was extended to Mill Street in 1829. This house was built for Capt. Stephen Hammond who moved from 639 Front Street. By 1855, carpenter Silas B. Allen lived here. He was one of ten prominent Marion men, mostly sea captains, who donated $1,000 each towards the construction of Marion’s Congregational church in 1841. Allen owned this house as late as 1907. In that year, he is listed in Marion directories as “92 years old, boards Mrs. B.M Hart’s, Pleasant Street.” This home was demolished in 2017.