In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. The survey was funded one-half by the Sippican Historical Society and one-half by the Massachusetts Historical Commission. Because of the limits of funding, not all of the historic buildings were surveyed, but over 100 were catalogued and photographed. The results of the survey are in digital form on the Massachusetts Historical Commission’s website and in four binders in the Sippican Historical Society’s office (and at the Marion Town Clerk’s office). Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. The Sippican Historical Society will preview one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture. This fourth installment features 319 Wareham Street.
The original house at 319 Wareham Street was a one-story saltbox built in 1775. A second story was added in the mid-1800s. Nathaniel Briggs of Rochester deeded the property to Joshua Dean of Wareham in the mid-1800s, who gave the property to his daughter, Betsey, wife of Peleg Washburn. Their son, Horatio, was the next owner, followed by his son, Charles. The home next passed to Charles’s son, Ralph, and then to his son, Warren and his wife, Ann. Warren and Ann’s son, Warren Washburn, Jr. is the current owner and the sixth generation of Washburns to own this home.