In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. The survey was funded one-half by the Sippican Historical Society and one-half by the Massachusetts Historical Commission. Due to the limits of funding, not all of the historic buildings were surveyed, but over 100 were catalogued and photographed. The results of the survey are in digital form on the Massachusetts Historical Commission’s website and in four binders in the Sippican Historical Society’s office (and at the Marion Town Clerk’s office).
Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. The Sippican Historical Society will preview one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture.
This installment features 309 Front Street. Built c. 1855, the home at 309 Front Street is a Greek Revival cottage, currently part of Burr’s Boat Yard. During the second half of the 19th century, it was owned by Leonard Bolles, master mariner. By 1903, Leonard Bolles, a laborer, lived here. Also in residence here during the first quarter of the 20th century was Sarah E. Leonard, the widow of Seth Leonard. Burr’s Boat Yard was established after the hurricane of 1938 on the site of the storm-destroyed Watts Boat Yard.