In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. The survey was funded one-half by the Sippican Historical Society and one-half by the Massachusetts Historical Commission. Due to the limits of funding, not all of the historic buildings were surveyed, but over 100 were catalogued and photographed. The results of the survey are in digital form on the Massachusetts Historical Commission’s website and in four binders in the Sippican Historical Society’s office (and at the Marion Town Clerk’s office).
Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. The Sippican Historical Society will preview one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture.
This installment features 65 Creek Road. The home at 65 Creek Road is an example of a c. 1830s Cape with Greek Revival elements. By 1855, this house was owned by John Briggs, a descendant of a family that first settled on nearby Little Neck in the late 17th century. Over time, the Briggs family ranked among the most prolific in Marion, producing a large number of seafarers. In the 1867 Plymouth County directory, 27 male members of the Briggs family are listed. By 1879, Andrew Jackson, a mariner, lived at this address. Jackson’s estate owned this property by 1903. His widow, Sarah M. Jackson, lived here until around 1920.