Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. Over 100 were cataloged and photographed. SHS will feature one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture.
Built around 1860, the Greek Revival residence at 168 Front Street probably represents the work of its first owner, Seth G. Mendell, a carpenter. By the early 1900s, this home was owned by Isaac E. Hiller, a proprietor of the Hiller’s Livery Stable, Coal and Lumberyard.