Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. Over 100 were cataloged and photographed. SHS will feature one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture.
The Greek Revival home at 82 County Road is located in North Marion. Its characteristic Greek Revival features include the gable-end facade, corner pilasters and wide entablature beneath the roof, and the original heavy entablature and sidelights in the entrance bay. Built between 1840 and 1855, this house provides a glimpse of a prosperous, mid-19th century miller’s homestead during a period characterized by the decline in the shipbuilding and whaling industries. It was owned in 1855 by Ezra S. Parlow who operated a mill on the pond across the street from this house. During the mid-1880s, Parlow served as treasurer of Marion’s Pythagorean Lodge, which was organized in 1861. The 1879 Marion map lists this home as owned by Nathan D. Parlow, who operated Nathan Parlow and Sons Grist Mill. In 1903, it was owned by Freeman F. Gurney, who resided at 202 Spring Street and operated a grocery store across from the depot.