Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. Over 100 were cataloged and photographed. SHS will feature one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture.
The property of 2 Spring Street started out as a country lane leading to a stone building associated with Captain Allen’s salt works. The Marion Town House at 2 Spring Street is an Italianate building erected in 1875-1876 as Tabor Academy’s recitation or classroom building. The school owes its existence to Elizabeth Taber, who purchased the rock-strewn land from Capt. Henry M. Allen in 1871. Tabor Academy opened on Sept. 13, 1877 with 21 students.
The restoration of the Town House exterior was recently completed with funds from the Sippican Historical Society and many generous donors. The elegant front entryway is now open and features photographs of the building’s interior from the SHS archives, as well as a recovered stone plaque which graced the original town hall.