Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. Over 100 were cataloged and photographed. SHS will feature one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture.
Stonycroft at 14 West Drive exemplifies the shingle style at its most picturesque. It was designed by the architectural firm of Coolidge and Carlson and built in 1895 for Brookline resident A.W. Bliss, whose leather business was located in the heart of Boston’s leather district. Its landscaping complements an architectural design that delicately balances rustic and formal qualities. Exterior and interior photographs of the Bliss House appeared in the October 29, 1919 edition of “The American Architect,” showing Craftsman-style furniture within. It also showed rustic interiors with low ceilings, exposed timbers, and both stone and brick fireplaces.