Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. Over 100 were cataloged and photographed. SHS will feature one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture.
This week we feature 547 Front Street. The 1840s Greek Revival dwelling at 547 Front Street was built by and for Paul W. Briggs, a carpenter. He served on the first board of selectmen for Marion, assuming this role shortly after Marion broke away from Rochester and was incorporated in 1852. By 1867, Paul W. Briggs, along with Howard and William Briggs, are listed as three of the seven carpenters and builders in Marion. Paul W. Briggs died on May 12, 1918 and his widow, Betsy, owned this house until 1926. The Briggs family of Marion is descended from Samuel Briggs, who had settled on Little Neck in Marion by the early 1700s. A large, well-known family in Marion, there were 27 Briggses listed in the 1867 Marion directory.