Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. Over 100 were cataloged and photographed. SHS will feature one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture.
The oldest home in this area is the late Georgian residence at 429 Front Street. The earliest known inhabitants of this house were members of the Hammett family. Mrs. H. Hammett lived here in 1855. By 1879, Robert W. Hammett, a farmer, owned this property. He was the First Warden of Marion’s Independent Order of Odd Fellows at the time of their organization in 1845. In 1903, West Luce owned this property.