Sippican Historical Society

Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. Over 100 were cataloged and photographed. SHS will feature one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture.

            This installment features 194 Spring Street. The charming, diminutive Greek Revival-style cottage at 194 Spring Street was built between 1855 and 1870. It was the home of William R. Gifford, who became well known to tourists in Marion’s Gilded Age as their gracious transportation on the last leg of their seasonal quest for beauty, peace, and recreation.

Leave A Comment...