Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. Over 100 were cataloged and photographed. SHS will feature one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture.
This installment features 17 Hiller Street. The cottage located at 17 Hiller Street was built in 1880 for Robert B. Hiller in the late Italianate style. This house is located next to the former Robert B. Hiller Livery Sable, Coal, and Lumberyard. Beginning in the 1890s, the Hiller Brothers provided horse-drawn vehicles to summer visitors registered at the Sippican Hotel and ferried the guests between the hotel and depot. By 1916, Hiller’s livery stable had been converted into a garage, and later the Hillers became pioneers in the local cranberry industry.