In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. The survey was funded half by the Sippican Historical Society and half by the Massachusetts Historical Commission. Due to the limits of funding, not all of the historic buildings were surveyed, but over 100 were cataloged and photographed. The results of the survey are in digital form on the Massachusetts Historical Commission’s website and in four binders in the Sippican Historical Society’s office (and at the Marion Town Clerk’s office).
Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. The Sippican Historical Society will preview one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture.
This installment features 62 Pleasant Street. Carpenter Augustus Handy bought the land at 62 Pleasant Street in 1853 and, with Noah Handy, built this house the following year. In 1879, this property was owned by the estate of Augustus Handy. In the early 1900s, Handy’s daughter, Priscilla Handy Hadley, lived here with her husband, Peleg Hadley. Priscilla and Peleg Handy were married in 1877. Peleg Hadley was the son of Andrew Hadley, the proprietor of the Marion General Store. Peleg Hadley initially worked in his father’s store, later establishing a poultry business. He served as town auditor and selectman. He died in this house on July 17, 1931, at age 82.