In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. The survey was funded half by the Sippican Historical Society and half by the Massachusetts Historical Commission. Due to the limits of funding, not all of the historic buildings were surveyed, but over 100 were cataloged and photographed. The results of the survey are in digital form on the Massachusetts Historical Commission’s website and in four binders in the Sippican Historical Society’s office (and at the Marion Town Clerk’s office).
Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. The Sippican Historical Society will preview one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture.
This installment features 108 Main Street. The Greek Revival home at 108 Main Street was built in 1841 for Elijah Brayley. A carpenter by trade, Brayley was probably responsible for the construction of this structure. After the Civil War, Brayley operated his house as a so-called “tramp house’ for Civil War veterans who were experiencing difficulties readjusting to civilian life. In return for providing these men with food and shelter, Brayley received a stipend from the Town of Marion. In 1873 – 1874, he served as Marion’s “herring inspector.”