In 1998, the Sippican Historical Society commissioned an architectural survey of Marion’s historic homes and buildings. The survey was funded one-half by the Sippican Historical Society and one-half by the Massachusetts Historical Commission. Because of the limits of funding, not all of the historic buildings were surveyed, but over 100 were catalogued and photographed. The results of the survey are in digital form on the Massachusetts Historical Commission’s website and in four binders in the Sippican Historical Society’s office (and at the Marion Town Clerk’s office). Marion (Old Rochester) is one of the oldest towns in the United States, and the Sippican Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documentation on its historic buildings. The Sippican Historical Society will preview one building a week so that the residents of Marion can understand more about its unique historical architecture. This installment features 312 Delano Road.
Part of the charming cottage at 312 Delano Road was built in 1750 by Harper Delano. The prominent Delano family – along with the Briggses, Dexters, and Ellises – were among the first families of Great Neck during the 18th century. A mold for making bullets for the War of 1812 was found in the basement of this house. During the War of 1812, the Delanos were well placed to witness barges carrying British troops from the Nimrod on its way to Wareham, where the crew burned a few houses in the village. By 1903, Amos Cornell owned this property. President Franklin Delano Roosevelt was related to the Marion Delanos.