The Sippican Historical Society, a small group of supporters, and the Cheney family, owners of the General Store, have forged a unique partnership.
The Sippican Historical Society and supporters are providing funding to restore the exterior of the building and to renovate the building’s structural support and electrical system. The restoration project will be managed by members of the Sippican Historical Society’s General Store Committee: Jack Cheney, Whitney Cheney Wynne, Amy Cheney Spirito, Frank McNamee, Judy Rosbe, Charlie Larkin, David Croll, and Hans Ziegler.
A Historic Preservation Restriction will be placed in the deed to protect the exterior of the building. There will be a right of first refusal granted to the Sippican Historical Society if the General Store is ever sold. These restrictions will ensure the exterior of the building will always remain the same. This agreement will ensure that this significant historical building will be preserved in perpetuity.
The General Store was originally built in 1794 as a Congregational Meeting House. It subsequently became the Village focus for spiritual, commercial, and social life in Marion.
The Cheney family has owned and operated the General Store since 1974, and it continues to be an important gathering spot and the center of the Village.
Some past properties that have been preserved by the Society include the Marion Post Office, the Captain Hadley House, Browne’s Pharmacy (which is now Kate’s), the Doctor Ellis house (now the historical society), and the bandstand. The Sippican Historical Society continues its campaign to protect and preserve important historic buildings in Marion.